Backward Design

The basic steps of backward design of a teaching practice are: Identify the desired results >> Determine acceptable evidence >> Plan learning experience

One starts with the end - the desired results (goals or standards) - and then derives the curriculum from the evidence of learning (performances) called for by the standard and the teaching needed to equip students to perform (Wiggins and McTighe, 2000, page 8).

The guide Principles of Backward Design by the Tasmanian (Australia) Department of Education is based on the Expanded 2nd edition of the book Understanding by Design by Grant Wiggins & Jay McTighe, which was published in 2005 by Pearson Education and the Association for Supervision & Curriculum Development.

The design process involves teachers planning in 3 stages, each with a focusing question:
• Stage 1 - What is worthy and requiring of understanding?
• Stage 2 - What is evidence of understanding?
• Stage 3 - What learning experiences and teaching promote understanding, interest and excellence?

[Digital] literacy has a scheme of the process

No comments:

Post a Comment